Tuesday, April 8, 2014

Review: Immortals (Runes #2) by Ednah Walters



Immortals
By: Ednah Walters

Description:

     Nothing can stop Raine Cooper when she wants something...


     Raine finally knows that her gorgeous neighbor, Torin St. James, is a legend straight out of Norse mythology, and that her feelings for him are strong. Torin is crazy about Raine too, breaking the one rule he lives by: Never fall for a mortal. The problem is he no longer remembers her, his memories erased by Norns—Norse destiny deities—to punish her for defying them.



     So Raine comes up with a plan...



     She will make Torin forget his one rule a second time and fall in love with her all over again. 
But she quickly learns that well-laid plans do not work when dealing with deities and supernatural beings. Desperate, Raine makes choices that could not only tear her and Torin further apart, but lead to the destruction of everything and everyone she loves.

My Review:

     Like all Ednah's (E. B.) Walters books I LOVED  this second installment to the Runes series. It had me captured from the first page and I couldn't let go of it 'til I was finished with it. There are a whole lot of revelations that surprised the heck out of me. Who knew one simple girl could attract so many supernatural beings her way.

     This book was full of action and the story line is to die for. I can't wait for the next one. See what happens with Torin and Raine, Eirik and Cora, and what other things are in store for this characters. I still can believe that thing about Eirik!

     I can recommend this read for anybody who likes paranormal and YA. You won't regret it.

Wednesday, October 23, 2013

Review: The Quilter's Legacy by Jennifer Chiaverini

526613

Description:

Resolving to locate her mother's heirloom quilts after so many years, Sylvia Compson embarks on a cross-country investigation of antique shops, quilt museums, and other, more unexpected places, where offers of assistance are not always what they seem. And as Sylvia recovers some of the missing quilts and accepts others as lost forever, she reflects on the woman her mother was and mourns the woman she never knew.

With heartfelt honesty, The Quilter's Legacy reveals the tenuous connections that bind generations and celebrates the love that sustains them
.

Review:

I could read this book again!!  Simply loved it.
I loved the switching back and forth from Sylvia to the time of her mother, and learning so much about the two.  Sylvia's drive to find her mother's fancy quilts was a great tribute to all quilters.  I only hope that my son never has to go through this, as he will be surrounded by quilts made by his mother forever.  I hope to make enough that him and his children will never need more (and my other "kids" too). 
Even though there is some size and length to these books, I find they are quick reads, as they are so enthralling!
You don't have to be a quilter to enjoy this book, it's beautiful all on its own. And if it inspires someone else to learn the craft, then it's worth it all the more!

Monday, October 21, 2013

Review: The New Year's Quilt by Jennifer Chiaverini

The New Year's Quilt (Elm Creek Quilts, #11)

Description:

As each holiday season approaches, some revel in welcoming the New Year ahead; others quietly mourn the passing of time gone by. "We can't hold on to the past," says Master Quilter Sylvia Compson, "but we cankeep the best part of 'Auld Lang Syne' in our hearts and in our memories, and we can look forward to the future with hope and resolve."

As Sylvia, a late-in-life newlywed, has discovered, love can enter our lives at any age. Yet before she can truly delight in her present happiness, she must face the sorrow hidden in her past--her own role in the tragic circumstances that left her estranged from her sister, Claudia, until it was too late to make amends. Vowing not to repeat the mistake with her new daughter-in-law, Amy, who opposed Sylvia's marriage to her father, Andrew, Sylvia must convince Amy that family is more precious than pride.

As Sylvia takes up a quilt for the season, begun and abandoned over six years, she recalls the New Year's Eve festivities of her youth at Elm Creek Manor as a member of the Bergstrom family. She titles the quilt "New Year's Reflections," after her belief that year-end reflections precede resolutions. The quilt blocks she chooses commemorate the wisdom that no one can ever be truly alone if she keeps the memory of those she loved and those who loved her alive in her hear.

The New Year's Quilt is a novel to enjoy today and to treasure anew each holiday season
.

Review:

Being estranged from one's step children (or even own children), is on thing that seems to happen a lot in today's society.  It can't be helped - or can it.  I have seen quilts be the first step in mending broken fences.  It allows the quilter to think on the issue, and come to terms - after all it takes a lot of hours to make these items.  And most children in a home with a quilter, knows and understands the thought behind a gift like this, so it means something to them as well.   While it may not always be as simple as this, it can help start it.
If only we took care with all our relationships before we allowed this to happen.
You don't have to be a quilter to enjoy this book, it's beautiful all on its own. And if it inspires someone else to learn the craft, then it's worth it all the more!

Saturday, October 19, 2013

Review: The Christmas Quilt by Jennifer Chiaverini

27748

Description:

When Christmas Eve comes to Elm Creek Manor, the tenor of the holiday is far from certain. Sylvia Bergstrom Compson, the Master Quilter, has her own reasons for preferring a quiet, even subdued, Christmas. Her young friend Sarah McClure, however, takes the opposite view and decides to deck the halls brightly. As she explores the trunks packed with Bergstrom family decorations that haven't been touched in more than fifty years, Sarah discovers a curious Christmas quilt. Begun in seasonal fabrics and patterns, the quilt remains unfinished.

Sylvia reveals that the handiwork spans several generations and a quartet of Bergstrom quilters -- her great aunt, her mother, her sister, and herself. As she examines the array of quilt blocks each family member contributed but never completed, memories of Christmases past emerge.

At Elm Creek Manor, Christmas began as a celebration of simple virtues -- joy and hope buoyed by the spirit of giving. As each successive generation of Bergstroms lived through its unique trials -- the antebellum era, the Great Depression, World War II -- tradition offered sustenance even during the most difficult times. For Sylvia, who is coping with the modern problem of family dispersed, estranged, or even forgotten, reconciliation with her personal history may prove as elusive as piecing the Christmas Quilt.

Elm Creek Manor is full of secrets, from a Christmas tree with unusual properties to the sublime Bergstrom strudel recipe. Sylvia's tales at first seem to inform her family legacy but ultimately illuminate far more, from the importance of women's art to its place in commemorating our shared experience, at Christmastime and in every season
.

Review:

Christmas is a hard time of year for me personally, so I will admit, I didn't read this book as throughly as I should have, but barely skimmed it, just so I wouldn't miss any iof the core story that would affect me reading other books.
You don't have to be a quilter to enjoy this book, it's beautiful all on its own. And if it inspires someone else to learn the craft, then it's worth it all the more!

Tuesday, October 15, 2013

Review: The Runaway Quilt by Jennifer Chiaverini

49706
The Runaway Quilt
By: Jennifer Chiaverini

Description:

Round Robin
In the fourth novel of the beloved Elm Creek Quilts series, Sylvia Compson searches for evidence of her ancestors' courageous involvement in the Underground Railroad.

Review:

Learning about history, especially American history, was never so interesting!!!  I loved this book, and it inspired me to make a log cabin quilt - something I am not a fan of.
You don't have to be a quilter to enjoy this book, it's beautiful all on its own. And if it inspires someone else to learn the craft, then it's worth it all the more!

Saturday, October 12, 2013

Review: The Cross Country Quilter's by Jennifer Chiaverini

49705
The Cross Country Quilter's
By: Jennifer Chiaverini

Description:

Julia, Megan, Donna, Grace, and Vinnie are cross-country friends who are about to begin work on a challenge quilt. A piece of fabric is divided among the women, with the understanding that the following year they will all meet at the Elm Creek Quilt Camp to sew the sections together into a single quilt. But the friends have set themselves a special challenge: no one can start working on her block until she has taken steps to solve her problems and achieve her personal goals.

Although they share a common creative objective, the Cross-Country Quilters find their friendship tested by the demands of everyday life. Yet despite differences in age, race, and background, the women's love of quilting and affection for one another unite them. The quilt they create becomes a symbol of the threads that hold their lives together-a glorious patchwork of caring and loyalty that brings home an enduring truth: Friends may be separated by great distance, but the strength of their bond can transcend any obstacle
.

Review:

So the last book in the series taught us all about the Elm Creek Quilters.  The ones that run Elm Creek Quilt camp.  This one introduces us to some of the campers themselves.  We meet Vinnie, a camper who returns every year for her birthday, Julia, a movie star, Grace, and many others.
This group of frineds give themselves an assignment over the course of a year, to be completed for when they all return to camp the following year.  We meet even more people, going through other things, including a woman battling MS, which I found moving, and inpiring, and I understood completely.  I barely put this book down, as I fell in love from the very first page.
You don't have to be a quilter to enjoy this book, it's beautiful all on its own. And if it inspires someone else to learn the craft, then it's worth it all the more!

Thursday, October 10, 2013

Review: Round Robin by Jennifer Chiaverini

918530

Description:

Round Robin reunites readers with the Elm Creek Quilters in this poignant and heartwarming follow-up to The Quilter's Apprentice, Jennifer Chiaverini's acclaimed debut novel. "She chose green and blue for the colors of Elm Creek Manor. She chose blue for truth and green for new beginnings . . ."

The Elm Creek Quilters have begun a round robin...a quilt created by sewing concentric patchwork to a central block as it is passed around a circle of friends. Led by Sarah McClure, who came to Waterford, Pennsylvania, with her husband, Matt, a few years ago, the project is to be their gift to their beloved fellow quilter Sylvia Compson. But like the most delicate cross-stitch, their lives are held together by the most tenuous threads of happiness...and they can unravel.

As each woman confronts a personal crisis, a painful truth, or a life-changing choice, the quilt serves as a symbol of the complex and enduring bonds between mothers and daughters, sisters and friends. In weaving together the harmonious, disparate pieces of their crazy-quilt lives, the Elm Creek Quilters come to realize that friendship is one of the most precious gifts we can give each other, and that love can strengthen understanding, lead to new beginnings, and illuminate our lives.

Review:

I loved this book.  I loved the idea of a round robin quilt.  And I loved the meaning and thoughtfullness behind the gift.  Getting to know each of the Elm Creek Quilters a little bit more, and diving into their lives for a while each together and seperately was incredible.  I loved the deeper character development that happened in this book beyond what happens in most books.  I wish that Elm Creek Quilt Camp truely existed, as I would be an avid customer! 
You don't have to be a quilter to enjoy this book, it's beautiful all on its own. And if it inspires someone else to learn the craft, then it's worth it all the more!

Wednesday, October 9, 2013

Review: The Quilter's Apprentice by Jennifer Chiaverini

148874

Description:

After moving with her husband, Matt, to the small college town of Waterford, Pennsylvania, Sarah McClure struggles to find a fulfilling job. In the meantime, she agrees to help seventy-five-year-old Sylvia Compson prepare her family estate, Elm Creek Manor, for sale. As part of her compensation, Sarah is taught how to quilt by this cantankerous elderly woman, who is a master of the craft.During their lessons, Mrs. Compson reveals how her family was torn apart by tragedy, jealousy, and betrayal, and her stories force Sarah to face uncomfortable truths about her own alienation from her widowed mother. As their friendship deepens, Mrs. Compson confides in Sarah the truth about why she wants to sell Elm Creek Manor. In turn, Sarah seeks a way to bring life and joy back to the estate so Mrs. Compson can keep her home -- and Sarah can keep her cherished friend. The Quilter's Apprentice teaches deep lessons about family, friendship, and sisterhood, and about creating a life as you would a quilt: with time, love, and patience, piecing the miscellaneous and mismatched scraps into a beautiful whole.

Review:

I am a quilter.  I quilt often.   I teach quilting.  I thought this would be an excellent book to read, incorporating two of my hobbies together for a while.  I loved this book.  The story of Sarah, Matt, Sylvia.  Each with their own problems and issues, both as individuals and in relationships with eachother.  It's hard to believe that this book I read so quickly and with out issues.  I have also found out this book is a series, and am going to do my best to read the whole series.  I want to know about Elm Creek Manor.  I want to know more about the town, the people, and I even want to make one or two of the quilts discussed within the series.  
You don't have to be a quilter to enjoy this book, it's beautiful all on its own.  And if it inspires someone else to learn the craft, then it's worth it all the more! 

Saturday, July 6, 2013

Review: Aversion by Kenechi Udogu


Description

For Gemma Green’s first time, things should have been straightforward. Find your subject, hold their gaze and push a thought into their head to save them from future disaster – Aversion complete. A pretty simple process given that the subject was to have no recollection of the experience. But Russ Tanner doesn’t seem to want to forget. In fact the more she tries to avoid him, the more he pushes to get to know her. Gemma knows she has a problem but is she facing the side effects of a failed Aversion or has the school’s tennis champ really fallen for her?


YA Paranormal Romance novella.

My Review

 I received this book free com the author in exchange for an honest review.

I enjoyed this story because it had a great idea and I have never read anything like it before. It was a short read but it packed a punch. I feel like the writing flowed and easily got Kenechi Udogu's point across. At times I did find the writing to be a little immature but it still read well. I just really loved the whole averting minds idea and kind of wish that I could do it. I would definitely read more books in this series. 
 Gemma is a great character because you can watch her grow over the course of the book. She starts of shy and introverted but quickly grows confidence. Also I'm glad that she finally got the truth out of her father. But I did fins it really weird that she had never asked or even guessed at her fathers age before hand. I like Russ, and I feel that even though he is a "jock" he stemmed like a good guy. He also got brownie points with me because when he found out Gemma's secret he didn't run away. 
 Aversion is a great paranormal read for young adults. I am excited to read book two to see where Gemma's new life will take her and what she will learn. I also want to find out if Russ will actually stick around.


Tuesday, June 25, 2013

Lorelei James' Redneck Romeo Release Party Day Seven

RR-Release-Party (1)

Day Seven – REDNECK ROMEO RELEASE PARTY

     Lorelei James is celebrating the release of REDNECK ROMEO with a SEVEN day party. SEVEN great giveaways, SEVEN different posts. Stop by all the amazing blogs participating in the party to increase your chances to win!!! Each blog will post a special REDNECK ROMEO post all seven days (no weekend posts)

Prize List:

  1. Redneck Romeo charm bracelet
  2. Kindle fire
  3. Basket of goodies, including a McKay brand fleece blanket and other McKay branded stuff and conference trinkets
  4. Full set of signed Rough Riders books
  5. 1 of a kind handmade small Western purse
  6. Arc of TURN AND BURN
  7. $100 gift card to amazon.com
Redneck Romeo (Rough Riders, #15)
Buy on:

Amazon | B&N

The Future of the ROUGH RIDERS:

     Slick from Guilty Pleasures: Since I just finished reading Redneck Romeo about the last McKay man standing, Dalton, I have to ask who will be the focus of book 16 and is that truly the end? Because I have to tell you having Ky driving and into girls is going to open up a whole can of worms about when the kid's stories are going to be told.

     No fun, I know, but no comment on Rough Riders book 16 yet...I'll clue you all in a bit further down the road. I get a bajillion questions about why I'm ending the Rough Riders series at book 16. And yes, I could probably write a second generation of McKays (Love Love Love my readers but you guys are driving me insane with the "When will you write Boone and Sierra's book?! Crazy rabid fans, I keep threatening that if you keep nagging me it'll be...never -- ha ha, yet I'd never do that because I want to know what happens too!) but I've always considered this series a western saga that DOES have an end. I've been fortunate that I've been allowed to write the books how I want, at the pace I want, with the subject matter I want--all with 100% publisher support. That is rare. Since the books have such a great following, there is that mindset to continue to "cash in" on the popularity of the series and characters. But I won't do that because at what point do the new books just become a rehash of the older books? I'd much rather end the series on a high note, at the height of popularity than wait until the series might be considered "tired" and I start to lose readers. Plus, I have lots of ideas, situations, characters and areas to explore in other fictional worlds. I hope readers come along for the ride.

Giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Participating Blogs:

Lorelei James
Lori Armstrong
Guilty Pleasures Book Reviews
Hesperia Loves Books
Romantic Book Affairs
Tattooed Book Review
Regina May Ross's
deal sharing aunt
Fictional Candy
Heart Breaking Reviews
Mrs Condit & Friends Read Books
Book Bitches Blog
Books Books and More Books
My Fiction Nook
Queen of the Night Reviews
hea's romances with a little kick
Talk Supe
Seawitch Reviews
All Romance Reviews
Angie's Dreamy Reads
Book-A-Holic Anon
The Rambling Readerista
Nightstand Novels
Shayna Renee's Spicy Reads
Book Obsessed Chicks
herding cats & burning soup
What's On the Bookshelf
Storm Goddess Book Reviews & More
Blackraven's Erotic Cafe
Blackraven's Reviews
AJ's Reading Nook
The Readers Roundtable
Dark Divas Reviews
SnifferWalk Books
Harlie's Books
Dear Brighton
Scorching Book Reviews
i love lady porn
My Odd Little World
Not Now...Mommy's Reading
Readers Confession
A Little Fiction of Every Flavour
Reading, Eating & Dreaming
My Life Beyond Labels
Harlie Williams, Writer
The Risque Redhead Reads
Musings From An Addicted Reader
Reading Between the Wines
3 Partners in Shopping, Nana, Mommy, & Sissy Too1
For The Love of Reading
Reality Bites! Let's Get Lost!!
Read Your Writes Book Reviews
Bookworm Brandee
Delighted Reader
Books-n-Kisses
Seductive Musings
Sugar and Spice Book Reviews
Under the Covers
My Secret Romance Book Reviews
A Dream Within A Dream
Redheads Review it Better
My Life with Books and Boys
Simply Ali